OS X El Capitan: How to downgrade new Apple OS back to Yosemite

Apple has just unveiled a slew of new products and services, including and a new operating system, the OS X El Capitan, among them. However, with the new platform just recently unveiled, and with some concerns about El Capitan cropping up, some fans who have already updated to the new platform may yearn for their old OS.

The good news is that although Apple has already focused its sights on support and updates for OS X El Capitan, many fans who find the new platform lacking can still downgrade and roll back their Macs to their previous Yosemite environment.

According to MacWorld UK, users who want to revert back to the Yosemite OS will find the Recovery mode not much of a help since this feature is only for reinstalling a system (because of corruption or data errors) that is currently installed on the Mac, which is already El Capitan. Meanwhile, having a Yosemite installer data (either a digital or physical copy) will also not help since Mac automatically conforms to the newest OS platforms. So with El Capitan already installed, the system will most likely not run the Yosemite data.

However, if the user has a Time Machine backup disk, noted IBTimes, it could be used to roll back to Yosemite from El Capitan.

First, the user should make sure that the Time Machine disk has a backup copy of Yosemite. Next, the computer should be rebooted, with the user holding the Command and R keys simultaneously, only releasing the keys when the Apple logo appears. This will take the user to the OS X menu and the OS X Utilities window.

Under the Utilities window, the user should then select the "Restore from a Time Machine Backup" option and click on Continue. When the system asks which backup source to use, the user should select the disk containing the backup data, which in this case is the Time Machine Backup. Doing so will open a new window with a selection of previous Apple platforms available, with Yosemite being the 10.10.X version. Clicking on Continue will open the Destination window, which is usually the Mac HD. Finally, clicking on Restore will close the windows, and the user should then wait for the computer to restart to finish the reverting process.

News
Christians urged to speak out against 'conversion practices' bill
Christians urged to speak out against 'conversion practices' bill

The call comes amid warnings from The Christian Institute that the proposals could threaten parental guidance and pastoral ministry.

Churches challenged to make single Christians feel fully part of church life
Churches challenged to make single Christians feel fully part of church life

Churches need to move beyond assumptions that marriage and family are the normal markers of a fulfilled Christian life and create communities where single people are fully valued, speakers at the inaugural Single Friendly Church Network conference have said. 

Liechtenstein Prince blocks abortion law reform, advocates greater support for mothers
Liechtenstein Prince blocks abortion law reform, advocates greater support for mothers

Liechtenstein’s Hereditary Prince Alois has refused to approve legislation that would have eased the country’s abortion restrictions, arguing that greater efforts should instead be made to support pregnant women.