World Council of Churches elects new presidents

The 10th Assembly of the World Council of Churches is meeting in Busan(Photo: World Council of Churches)

The World Council of Churches has elected eight new presidents at its 10th Assembly taking place in South Korea.

The presidents were elected during a closed session at its assembly in Busan.

The eight WCC presidents are:
Africa: Reverend Dr Mary Anne Plaatjies van Huffel, Uniting Reformed Church in Southern Africa
Asia: Reverend Professor Dr Sang Chang, Presbyterian Church in the Republic of Korea
Europe: Archbishop Anders Wejryd, Church of Sweden
Latin America and Caribbean: Reverend Gloria Nohemy Ulloa Alvarado, Presbyterian Church in Colombia
North America: Bishop Mark MacDonald, Anglican Church of Canada
Pacific: Rev. Dr Mele'ana Puloka, Free Wesleyan Church of Tonga
Eastern Orthodox: HB John X Patriarch of the Greek Orthodox Church of Antioch and All the East
Oriental Orthodox: HH Karekin II, the Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians

They are all ex-officio members of the WCC's Central Committee and will work to promote ecumenism and interpret the work of the WCC, particularly in their respective regions.

The WCC will also elect members of its Central Committee during the assembly.