The Christians among the Conservatives

Of the 143 new Conservative MPs, twelve are members of the Christian Conservative Fellowship (CCF).

Representing 8% of the new intake, the twelve were part of a group of 37 candidates who were supported in their campaign by the CCF.

According to research by The Sunday Times, 23% of the new intake are women, 6% are from ethnic minority backgrounds — with 2% black and 4% Asian — while gays make up 3%.

CCF member Robert Halfon, a former Chief of Staff to Oliver Letwin, overturned his 2005 defeat in Harlow to unseat Armed Forces Minister, Bill Rammell, through a 5.9% swing to the Conservatives. Rammell, who was involved in the release of Lockerbie bomber, Ali al-Megrahi, had the third smallest majority of any Labour MP, at just 97 votes.

Liberal Democrat spokesman for science, Dr Evan Harris, lost his Oxford West & Abingdon seat by 176 votes to Nicola Blackwood. Harris, first elected in 1997, had been outspoken in his support for euthanasia and abortion, earning him the nickname ‘Dr Death.’

Blackwood, a Cambridge graduate, is concerned ‘that the voice of Christians and people of other faiths on key issues of conscience is too readily dismissed in public debate,’ according to the CCF.

In Congleton, Fiona Bruce was one of 38 from the party’s 100 ‘A-list’ of candidates elected. She is a national winner of the Business Woman of the Year Award "Women into Business".

Stephen Metcalfe won South Basildon and East Thurrock after beating Labour MP, Angela Smith. In 2009 Smith was one of the MPs whose expenses were highlighted by The Daily Telegraph during the Parliamentary expenses scandal, after submitting claims for four beds for a one bedroom flat in London.

Two candidates secured a swing of more than 10% to win their seats, Jessica Lee taking Erewash and Derek Thomas, St Ives.

Elsewhere: Nicky Morgan won Loughborough; Amber Rudd, Hastings; Councillor Martin Vickers, Cleethorpes; John Glen, Salisbury; Steven Baker, Wycombe; Jeremy Lefroy gained a seat in Stafford, through a 7.4% swing from Labour

CCF members include voters, Councillors, MPs, and Peers who aim to provide a link between the Conservative Party and the Christian community.

Founded in 1990 by Tim Montgomerie and David Burrowes, while they were students at Exeter University, the CCF is an interdenominational fellowship, which holds prayer as the foundation for all its activities.

Burrowes, who is Chairman of the CCF, was elected to Parliament in 2005 for Enfield and Southgate after ousting Stephen Twigg. Montgomerie is now an influential Conservative commentator and blogger.