Vicky Beeching, EasterLive and YouVersion take home Christian media awards

Christians at the forefront of social media and web technology were honoured for their efforts at Premier Christian Media’s annual Christian New Media Awards last night.

The awards, now in their fifth year, were hosted by the Evangelical Alliance’s Krish Kandiah and Premier Radio presenter Maria Rodrigues-Toth at St Stephen’s Walbrook, known as the ‘Internet Church’, in central London.

The night was opened by the Bishop of London, Dr Richard Chartres, who pointed to the need for the church to be engaging with people digitally.

Prize winners included Vicky Beeching, who scooped Best Christian Blog. EasterLive2011 won the award for Most Creative Use of Social Media, while the phenomenally successful YouVersion walked away with the Best Use of Mobile Web.

Other winners included Open Doors youth for Best Use of New Media in Social Action and Resound Worship, which won the People’s Choice Award, the only award voted for by the public.

Chief Executive of Premier Christian Media, Peter Kerridge, said: “Over the last five years the standard of entrants to the awards has just gone from strength to strength, proving that Christians are rising to the challenge that these new technologies present for new and innovative ways for outreach.

“Billions of emails, texts and telephone calls are made every day. Millions of websites are visited. In the age of Facebook and Twitter, Premier is committed to enabling the UK church to reach out to people using new media.

“These awards celebrate all that is being achieved in this exciting area.”

The full list of winners:
Best Christian Blog: Vicky Beeching for vickybeeching.com
Best Christian Blog for Under 25s: Dean Roberts for deanroberts.net
Most Inspiring Leadership Blog: Peter Mead for biblicalpreaching.net
Best Newcomer Blog: Laura Sykes for www.layanglicana.org/blog/
Most Creative Use of Social Media: Huw Tyler for easterlive2011.com
Best Christian Organisation: New Generation, Birmingham (newgeneration.co.uk)
Best Large Church Website: Regeneration Church, Essex (www.regenerationchurch.co.uk)
Best Small Church Website: The Rock Church, West Bridgford (www.the-rock.org.uk )
Best Use of New Media in Social Action: Open Doors (www.youth.opendoorsuk.org)
Best Use of New Media in Evangelism: TellShowBe.com
Best Use of Mobile Web: YouVersion (youversion.com/mobile/)
Creative Agency of the Year: Contra Positive
Accessibility Award: Leigh Road Baptist Church (www.lrbc.org.uk)
People’s Choice Award: Resound Worship (www.resoundworship.org)

Lifestyle