Miss America 2014 Winner Miss New York Nina Davuluri, Watch online ABC beauty pageant, Top 15 contestants

The 2014 Miss America pageant will take place tonight at 9 p.m. ET. 53 contestants from across the U.S. will compete at Atlantic City's Boardwalk Hall for the "Miss America" title.

Contestants from each state, plus the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico, will compete for the crown, which will be handed over by Mallory Hagan of New York, who won the pageant last year.

The 2014 Miss America pageant will be hosted by Bachelor host Chris Harrison and Good Morning America's Lara Spencer. Celebrity judges include Lance Bass, Carla Hall, Amar'e Stoudemire, Joshua Bell and Mario Cantone.

The pageant will air live from Atlantic City of New Jersey on ABC on Sunday, September 15, 2013.

The competition is returning to Atlantic City for the first time in eight years. "I feel like it's such a great shot in the arm," host Lara Spencer said. "And I feel a personal responsibility that we do it right and that we make it great and that tomorrow the parade is phenomenal. And now, given the fires, I feel like it's just very, very important."


One contestant, Theresa Vail from Kansas, will be standing out among the contestants tonight. She is a sergeant in the United States Army, who willingly shows off her tattoos.

She told Fox News: "There's a big taboo in the pageant, nobody shows their tattoos for fear of losing, but I said, 'What a hypocrite I would be if I say be all you can be, embrace your individuality, embrace your differences, break barriers, if I couldn't even do that myself."

Another contestant is Miss Iowa Nicole Kelly, who was born without part of her forearm. She told the Associated Press: "The reason I'm here is not because I'm a public interest story. I'm here not because I look different but because I have the intelligence. I have the ability and all the things that Miss America needs to have. I'm proud to represent those who look differently, but it's about what you can do and how you celebrate it. I'm just like you."

The event will be available to watch online via live stream here. 

The top 15 semi-finalists are Miss Kansas, Miss California, Miss New York, Miss Oklahoma, Miss Connecticut, Miss Georgia, Miss Mississippi, Miss Texas, Miss Arkansas, Miss Missouri, Miss Kentucky, Miss Maryland, Miss Florida, Miss Wisconsin and Miss Minnesota.

UPDATE: Miss New York Nina Davuluri, 24, from Syracuse, won the pageant tonight. 

More News in News Briefs