Fortnite season 5 news: dataminers find desert map hinting at new theme

Epic Games

Fortnite: Battle Royale season 4 is coming to an end and it's time to get ready for Season 5 and all of the new adventures this episode of the battle royale game will bring.

As season 4 has been winding down, players have been noticing lots of cracks appearing in the sky and wondering what these could mean for where the game is going in season 5.

At the weekend, there was the launch of the Evil Lair's rocket which caused a rift in the sky over the island.

Interestingly, some strange objects have been coming through these rifts, like an anchor and a stagecoach and Forbes thinks that these objects suggest the theme for the next season might be linked to time travel or history.

That would tie in with a report in The Express saying that dataminers have discovered a desert map.

There's also the puzzling kitsune mask that was teased in a promo image from Epic that fans aren't quite sure how to interpret.

In a separate report, The Express said the teased mask could actually be a Bastet mask which would suggest an Ancient Egypt theme - Bastet was an Ancient Egyptian goddess.

Epic confirmed already that Fortnite: Battle Royale is kicking off right on the tail of season 4, July 12 and things will get moving when the 5.0 update heads out to the PS4, Xbox One, PC, Nintendo Switch, and iOS at 1 AM PT / 4 AM ET / 9 AM BST / 6 PM AET.

A Battle Pass is being made available but Epic Games have yet to confirm how much that will cost. It also hasn't confirmed the exact details about the additional content or skins that players will be able to access through the pass, nor how many reward tiers they'll have to work through to get them.

We'll get the answers to all of our questions in just a couple of days from now.

Lifestyle