2006 Oasis Pre-Awards Celebrates Gospel Music in UK

|PIC1|The Oasis Awards nominations reception & pre-Awards, sponsored by the Mayor's Office in City Hall, London, was held last night prior to the main event tonight.

Awards from 10 categories were presented, while the full list of nominees were announced.

The night opened with a prayer by Bishop Tedroy Powell from Church of God of Prophecy and a welcoming speech by founder of Oasis Awards, Roney Henderson.

Presenters of the Awards included James Freeman and Chantal Daniels from UnitedbyOne, Dave P and Angie Thomas from Gospel Light, Chrystal from Premier Radio, and Tony Tomlin from New Nation Newspaper.

The City Hall was filled with rounds of applauses as the the winners of the ten categories were announced.

Winners included Michael Brown for Best Musician and Jahaziel for Best Reggae/ Hip-Hop artist.

In addition to the gospel music category, unique awards for Best Christian Channel and Conference of the Year were presented to Revelation TV and The International Gathering of Champions’ (IGOC), respectively.

“It’s only by grace that Revelation TV and our music even exists,” Howard Conder, founder of Revelation TV said.

“Revelation TV and R Music is just part of the DNA that connects the organism of the Church. Without gospel music, without producers, without preachers or songwriters, there would be no Revelation TV or R Music.”

The evening closed with a prayer by Pastor Nathan Curtis of the Glory House Church.

As the 'first ever UK Gospel Music and Church Awards', the main 2006 Oasis Awards ceremony will take place 27 July, 2006 at the Hackney Empire. Performers will include Jahaziel, Roger Samuels, Andre ‘Saxman’ Brown, Antonio Neal and many others.

|AD|Roney Henderson, CEO of Musicstar Entertainments and founder of the Oasis Awards said: “Tomorrow will be a fully produced show. We've got 10 performers, we've got live fans. A lot of hard work has been put into it, and we're looking forward to a great night!"

Winners of the 26 Oasis Awards will be decided by public vote.

Gospel newcomer, Roger Samuel has been nominated in the best newcomer category, while English praise and worship artist Tim Hughes grabbed nominations for Best Praise and Worship Artist, and Best Praise and Worship Song with the popular song ‘Here I Am To Worship’.

Henderson commented, “The Oasis Awards has now reached a very exciting stage. The nominees reflect those artists, churches and ministries that are having a major impact on the lives and spiritual development of the Christian public. It will be interesting to see who the public eventually vote for and I would encourage everyone to not only make sure they place their votes, but also make sure they attend the Oasis Awards. It promises to be a very memorable and inspirational event.”

Full list of winners for Oasis pre-Awards:

Best Reggae Artist- Witness

Best Christian Channel- Revelation TV/R Music

Best Gospel Club Night- A Godly Affair – United By One

Best Musician- Michael Brown

Best Packaged CD- Clap Clap – Four Kornerz

Best Producer- Ibe Otah – Siani

Best Reggae/Hip Hop Song- No Shame In My game – Jahaziel

Minister of the Year- Bishop John Francis – Ruach Ministries

Community Church of the Year- Church of God of Prophecy – Bishop Wilton Powell

Conference of the Year- International Gathering of Champions